Founding Fathers

originalcfcclogoThe first meeting of what was then called the Canadian Federation of Chefs de Cuisine took place at the MacDonald Hotel in Edmonton, Alberta on April 22nd and 23rd, 1963. The crest pictured on the right is the original logo of the Federation, and remained the logo until Federation was renamed the Canadian Culinary Federation in June, 2003.


The delegates of the first meeting of the Canadian Federation of Chefs, April 22-23, 1963.

Back row: Henry Bachman, Anthony Casagrande, Andre Pittit, Stuart McLeod, Nick Marchak, Peter Ferenczy, Marcel Hemery, Xaviar Hietzman. Middle row: Lynn McLeod, Einar Neilson, Valentino Alsoisio, Bert Bouwmeester, Fred Kovacs, Henry Duguay, Art Munger, Bill Schmidts. Bottom row: Martin Elgeti, Don Cutler, Angelo Casagrande, Bill Walsh,Norm Gibeault. Not pictured: John Latham, Jack Sawchuk, Don Campbell, Joe Lentz, Walliy Shew.

Monday, April 22nd, 1963
Breakfast Host Macdonald Hotel.
M.W. Elgeti in Chair, with the following members present:

John Latham, Edmonton
Peter Ferenczy, Edmonton
Norm Gibeault, Edmonton
Stuart McLeod, Edmonton
Henri A. Doguet, Vancouver
Xavier A. Hetzman, Vancouver
Henry Bachman, Halifax
Einer P. Nielsen, Calgary
Angelo Casagrande, Ottawa
Jack Sawchuk, Edmonton
Don Cutler, Winnipeg
Lynn McLeod, Edmonton
Don Campbell, Edmonton
Valentino Aloisio, Edmonton
Joe Lentz, Edmonton
Marcel Hemery, Edmonton
William Schmidts, Edmonton
Wallie Shew, Vancouver
Nickolas Marchak, Winnipeg
Tony Casagrande, Saskatoon
Andre Pittet, Saskatoon
Arthur Munger. Edmonton
Fred Kovacs, Edmonton
Bert Bowmeester, Edmonton
Valentine Kremsar, Edmonton
(Retired Director of Tourist Bureau)

Moved by Angelo Casagrande, seconded by W. Shaw and carried, that Mr. S. E. Chambers, General Manager of CNR Hotels, and Mr. R. A. Mackie, General Manager of CPR Hotels Limited, be made Honorary Charter Life Members of the Canadian Federation of Chefs de Cuisine.

After considerable discussion regarding expenses and payment thereof, it was moved by Mr. W. Shaw, seconded by Mr, T. Aloisio and carried, that the Convention expenses be defrayed on a per capita basis.

Moved by Mr. H. Doguet, seconded by Mr, H. Bachman and carried, that $10.00 be paid by every delegate attending this Convention to defray expenses.

It was further moved by Mr. X. Hetzman, seconded by Mr. W, Shaw and carried, that it be incorporated in the Constitution that an initiation fee of $5.00 be charged each member joining the Federation.

At present membership in the various local associations is as follows:

Winnipeg 21, Vancouver 32, Edmonton 20, lone members 3 – a total of 76.

Regarding the next Convention, Mr.. D. Cutler presented an invitation from the Winnipeg Association that they host the next Convention of The Canadian Federation of Chefs de Cuisine. It was agreed that the next convention be held in Winnipeg on or after April 15th, 1964, the setting of the exact date to be left to the Winnipeg Association.

Moved by Tony Casagrande, seconded by Andre Pittet and carried, that The Canadian Restaurant Association, the Hotel Association, and the Innkeepers Association be honorary members of the Federation.

The newly elected Secretary is to be instructed to send letters to the Hotel Association, Restaurant Association and Innkeepers Association advising that The Canadian Federation of Chefs de Cuisine has been formed and suggesting that if we can be of any assistance to them to call on us.

On Motion of Henry Bachman, seconded by Henry Doquet and carried, the following is to be accepted as the Code of Ethics of members of this Federation:

“I hereby embrace this code of ethics as laid down by this association and I certify that I will supervise to the best of my ability the following traditional duties of the Executive Chef: Co-operation with Management, kitchen and serving staff; food cost control; menus planning; payroll control; public relations with staff and management; research of new dishes and equipment; inventory and buying; complete sanitation and upgrading of kitchen staff; and above all, to supervise the serving of palate-pleasing and attractive dishes and generally uphold the dignity of my profession and The Canadian Federation of Chefs de Cuisine. I shall place honor and the standing of our profession before personal advantage. I shall not use unfair means to effect any professional advancement or to injure the chance of another colleague to secure or hold employment.”

With reference to a National crest, it was moved by Mr, X. Hetzman, seconded by Mr. W. Shaw, and carried, that the new crest will be as the crest of the Winnipeg Association and that it be on a background of a Maple Leaf, and that an artist be asked to submit a design of such crest for the approval of the Executive.

It was suggested that each local Association have a design of their own for lapel pins and that each association submit their design to the Federation Secretary from which a national design will be chosen at the next convention,

It was agreed that all members who joined the Federation at its inception be Charter Members.

It was agreed that uniform membership cards be printed for members of the Federation. New cards will be issued each year to members in good standing – each year cards will be of a different color.

It was agreed that each Association send in written reports monthly to inform the National Executive Board of their month’s activities.

Election of Officers:

President – A. Casagrande, Ottawa
First Vice-President – D. Cutler, Winnipeg
Second Vice-President – W. Shaw, Vancouver
Secretary – N. Gibeault, Edmonton
Treasurer – M. Elgeti, Edmonton

Executive Members:

H. Bachman – Nova Scotia, P.E.I., and New Brunswick
N. Marchak – Manitoba
W. Shaw to appoint an Executive Member from the Province of British Columbia
A. Casagrande to appoint an Executive Member from Ontario and Quebec
W. Elgeti to appoint an Executive Member from Alberta
Tony Casagrande to be Executive Member for Saskatchewan (belongs to Edmonton Association)

Moved by W. Shaw, seconded by H.. Doguet and carried, that all ballots be destroyed.

It was agreed that the fiscal year of the Federation be March 1st to February 28th in each year.

Moved by H. Bachman, seconded W. Shaw and carried, that the Treasurer will sign all cheques issued by the Federation,

The meeting extended a vote of thanks to Mr Elgeti for conducting the Founding Convention,

It was moved by D. Cutler, seconded by H. Bachman and carried, that the Edmonton Association be congratulated on their efforts in laying the groundwork for the Funding Convention.

Moved by A. Casagrande, seconded by H. Bachman and carried, that meeting adjourn.

Meeting adjourned at 12:30 PM



Mr. Dan Campbell, in speaking of the use of the crest, suggested that all hotels and people who employ Chefs de Cuisine should be required and encouraged to use the crest in their front windows, on menus, stationery, literature, and on advertising in national and international publications. This is most important from the viewpoint of tourism as a prestige symbol, He also suggested that Provincial Governments should be encouraged to print the crest in their Tourist Guides denoting paces to eat.

Mr. M. Elgeti suggested that this information be passed on to all local committees to act on as they see fit.